Miami East choirs compete

For the Troy Daily News

CASSTOWN — Recently the choral department at Miami East Local Schools participated in two adjudicated events. Congratulations to the 17 ladies that make up the Miami East Women’s Ensemble. The students performed at the OMEA Southwest Region State Contest Saturday, April 30. The women’s group earned a Superior rating in class C. The event was hosted by Tippecanoe High School and chaired by Mrs. Amanda Hughes.

The Miami East Women’s Ensemble members are: Danielle Abner, Alivia Beven, Makenzie Comer, Haley Fisher, Jamie Hawkins, Jasime, Hayes, Emily Holicki, Caitlin Justice, Kara Kallen, Gabby Lozano, Kaytee Macy, Grace McCalister, Ciara Oiler, Erica Ritchea, Amber Robinson, Kyleigh Tulanko and Emma Vallery.

The 6th and 7th-8th grade Miami East Jr. High Honor Choirs recently competed in the OMEA Jr. High Choir Contest May 7. The event was hosted by Mrs. Kathy McIntosh of Troy High School. This was the first year for the 6th grade choir to perform at the adjudicated event. The group earned a Superior rating from all three judges. They were applauded from their musicianship and well-polished performance.

The 7-8 mixed choir competed in OMEA class A four part mixed and earned straight Superiors as well. This group has performed in class A for the past five years and received Superior ratings.

Members of the 6th grade choir are: Chloe Aviles, Abigail Baker, Jonah Blauvelt, Lilyan Bruggeman, Christian Cathcart, Kiley Davie, Gwyndalynn Ferryman, Kaylynn Fetters, Abigail Henderson, Paxton Hunley, Ilys LeMaster, Hannah Lozano, Jasmyn Maingi, Ethan Ott, Laura Pottorf, Amelia Schwartz, Summer Sizemore, Lillian Slone, Emma Sutherly, Kalli Teeters, Celia Thomas, Ellen Vallery and Sarah Wright.

Members of the 7-8 choir are: Emily Adkins, Pam Casner, Abigail Covault, Josie Crawford, Alexis Cullen, Kelsea Drake, Paetyn Greve, Faith Hammond, Gabrielle Hawkins, Nichole Hood, Sophia Jacomet, Alyssa Loughman, Meredith McDowell, Camryn Miller, Bridget Paton, Annie Richters, Kara Riley, Kate Russell, Grace Slone, Isabella Waite, Brandi Abner, Paige Blauvelt, Makayla Brittain, Olivia Carpenter, Isabella Fiessinger, Olivia Fiessinger, Gretchen Frock, Cadence Gross, Michaela Horner, Rori Hunley, Karley Kinard, Kearsten Kirby, Angelique LeMaster, Sophie Markley, Katie Niswonger, Katie Pottorf, Meadow Powers, Sydney Preston, Rylee Puthoff, Sophia Stuchell, Andrew Bevan, Stevie Caudill, Coleman Demmitt, Tyler Fetters, Garrett Kowalak, Garrett LeMaster, Caleb Lozano, Justin Maxwell, Tim Moore, James Rowley, Nathan Scott, Jimmy Sutherly, Ethan Swindell, Daniel Tucker, Seth Wells, Matt Wick, Sam Zapadka, Daniel Baker, Ethin Bendickson, Jeffrey Blackford, Alexander Callahan, AJ Christian, Cameron DeWeese, Christian DeWeese, Keagan Mahan, Keegan Mahaney, Caden May, David Osting, Neil Pohl, Kyle Rowley, and Jarrett Winner.

The ensemble was directed by Mr. Omar Lozano and accompanied by Mrs. Melissa Lozano.

For the Troy Daily News