Meet the Candidates plans finalized

Staff Reports

TROY — Leadership Troy Alumni will be sponsoring two back-to-back evenings of Meet the Candidates.

The first night is scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 23 and will feature 15 Republican candidates with opposition for the 8th Congressional District race in the March 15 Primary Election. Those candidates invited to speak include Matthew Ashworth, Bill Beagle, Warren Davidson, Timothy Derickson, Scott George, Eric Haemmerle, Terri King, Joseph Matvey, Edward Meer, John Robbins, Matthew Smith, Jim Spurlino, Kevin White, J.D. Winteregg, and George Wooley.

There will be no media panel and no questions accepted from the audience for the Congressional event. Candidates may make themselves available before or after the event for informal conversation.

The second evening, Wednesday, Feb. 24, will feature Republican candidates with opposition in the March Primary, including those for Miami County Commissioner: Richard Cultice, Gregory Simmons, Jack Evans, and Cynthia Lillicrap; for prosecuting attorney: Mel Kemmer and Anthony Kendell; for sheriff of Miami County: Chris Anderson, Steven Cooper, David Duchak, and Paul Reece; as well as the Troy Schools levy.

At the Wednesday evening event, questions will be accepted from the audience and presented by a media panel including Matt Bayman of, Joshua Byers of the Troy Daily News, and Scott Hornberger, WTJN Radio. Tom Dunn will serve as moderator and Jack Hoekstra will be the timekeeper.

Both of these forums will be held at the Troy Junior High School gymnasium at 556 N. Adams St., Troy. Doors open at 7 p.m. The program will begin each evening promptly at 7:30 p.m. and will last 90 minutes. It will be broadcast live on WPTW Radio and on a delayed broadcast on Troy Community Television at

Leadership Troy Alumni have been hosting the Meet the Candidate forums since 1990. Leadership Troy includes residents of the Troy area who, since 1984, have successfully completed an extensive program designed to increase the quality and quantity of men and women capable of accepting leadership roles in community organizations.