Myers elected president of OPRA

Scott Myers

For the Troy Daily News

WESTERVILLE — J. Scott Myers, the executive director of the Miami County Park District, was elected president of the Ohio Parks and Recreation Association (OPRA) by the association’s board of directors last week.

Myers will lead the group of nearly 1,500 Ohio parks and recreations professionals.

Myers, who was elected to the OPRA Board in 2011, will lead the association in its mission of “promoting the wise use of leisure and sound stewardship of Ohio’s parks, recreation and natural resources.” He previously served as chair of the association’s awards committee and as the association vice president.

“Scott Myers is respected around Ohio as a thoughtful professional who is passionate about parks and is a leader in his community,” said OPRA Executive Director Woody Woodward. “His work in Miami County has earned him acclaim around the state. We look forward to Scott’s continued leadership in OPRA and believe that he is the right person to lead our organization as we continue to tell the stories of life-change which happen as a result of the parks and recreation opportunities which are available throughout our state.”

“To be selected by my peers to lead this great association and its nearly 1,500 members is a tremendous honor, Myers said. Anytime that we can give back to our profession gives us the opportunity to not only serve other professionals but also bring great inspiration back to help make our own communities better. I think this also shows how others in the state view and respect the Miami County Park District and the work that is done here by our great staff.”

Myers began his career with the city of Springfield before moving to the city of Piqua in 2002. He became deputy director of Miami County Park District in 2007 and was promoted to executive director in 2012. In addition to his service with OPRA, Myers is the current president of the Miami County Visitors and Convention Bureau and serves on the board of both Troy Junior Baseball and Troy Junior Basketball. He is also a former president of the Ohio Association of Football Officials.

Myers will lead the association’s 10 member Board of Directors and professional staff. The association, headquartered in Westerville, represents parks and recreation professionals and citizen board members in cities, townships and park districts around Ohio, striving to provide quality park and recreational facilities and opportunities for all Ohioans while protecting and preserving Ohio’s natural resources.

OPRA was initially organized in 1934 as the Ohio Recreation Association, with a separate organization, the Ohio Parks Association, formed in 1942. In 1963, ORA and OPA Incorporated to become OPRA.