Chapter inducts new members

CASSTOWN — On Nov. 23, the Miami East-MVCTC FFA awarded 34 new members their Greenhand FFA Degree. The Greenhand Degree is awarded to first year members of the FFA, and is the first award that can be received. Each member awarded received a pin to be worn on their FFA jacket and a certificate of achievement. Aaron Klohn, State FFA Reporter of the Ohio FFA Association, was the guest speaker.

In order to receive the Greenhand FFA Degree the members must be enrolled in an agriculture class, have plans for a Supervised Agricultural Experience Program, learned and explained the FFA Creed, Motto, Salute, Mission Statement, Code of Ethics and uses of the FFA Jacket, Colors, and Emblem, and demonstrated an understanding of the FFA’s history, chapter constitution and by-laws. The Greenhand FFA Degree is the first of four degrees that an FFA member can earn.

The students earning the degree are Liza Bair, Dakota Bashore, Kylie Blair, Jakob Brunke, Bailey Buck, Keagan Carsey, Jessica Copeland, Monet Desautels, Kyle Elifritz, Taylor Frawley, Jessica Gillum, Brennon Green, Kaitlyn Hawes, Ashley Hawkins, Caleb Hayslett, Tyler Heckman, Brookelyn Hermann, Devin Karnehm, Abbey Koontz, Zach Kowalak, Maci Krites, Zach Kronenberger, Lane Mergler, Michael Miller, Cody Niswonger, Lance Rohrbach, Spencer Selhorst, Noah Shook, Kyle Sturgill, Emily Swindell, Seth Teeters, Derek Tennant, and Alex Zapadka.