Red Devils earn postseason honors

Josh Brown | Troy Daily News Tippecanoe’s Mitchell Poynter (left) captured Central Buckeye Conference titles in both the 800 and 1,600 this season.

Anthony Weber | Troy Daily News Tippecanoe pitcher Megan Rittenhouse earned first-team All-Central Buckeye Conference Kenton Trail Divison honors this season.

By David Fong

TIPP CITY — For the first time in more than a decade, Tippecanoe failed to capture a single Central Buckeye Conference Kenton Trail Division title in any of the five spring sports — baseball, softball, boys track, girls track and tennis — but that didn’t stop the Red Devils from bringing home a host of individual conference awards.

Here’s a look at the individual CBC Kenton Trail honors won by the Red Devils:


In the final year under legendary coach Bruce Cahill, the Red Devils went 19-11 (12-4 in the CBC), good for second place in the Division behind Kenton Ridge.

Tippecanoe infielder Zack Blair, outfielder Justyn Eichbaum, catcher Brandon Gotthardtt, infielder Aaron Hughes and pitcher Cole Quillen all were named first-team All-CBC Kenton Trail Division.

Dalton Hodge was named special mention and Brandon Roberts won the conference’s “Sportsmanship Award.”


The Red Devils finished the season 15-15 (6-10 in the CBC), fifth in the division.

Infielder Stephanie Kraska, pitcher Megan Rittenhouse, outfielder Rachel Rusk and outfielder Kaitlyn Stocker all were named to the first team.

Lauren Goodall earned special mention, while Taylor Yeager won the “CBC Sportsmanship Award.”

Boys Track

Tippecanoe finished third at the CBC Kenton Trail meet with 58 points, behind Bellefontaine (112) and Tecumseh (106.5).

Mitchell Poynter won division titles in both the 800 (1:58.80) and 1,600 (4:24.32). Daniel Frame won the 3,200 (9:53.11). In the postseason Poynter would go on to place third in the 1,600 at the Division I state meet.

Sean Dodd won the CBC Sportsmanship Award.

Girls Track

The Red Devils finshed fourth the division meet with 86 points, behind Tecumseh (118), Shawnee (94) and Bellefontaine (89.5).

Hailey Brumfield won a division title in the 3,200 (11:39.93) and Taylor Prall won the 100 hurdles (15.63 seconds).

Meredith Brumfield won the sportsmanship award.


Tippecanoe finished the season 10-6 (5-3 in the CBC), tied for fourth in the conference.

Michael Keller (first singles) and Joe Keller (second singles) both were named first-team All-CBC. Phillip Bullard (third singles) earned special mention. Alex Kagy won the sportsmanship award.

Contact David Fong at; follow him on Twitter @thefong