College briefs

Edison announces summer dean’s list

PIQUA — Edison State Community College recognizes 14 students for excellence in academics on the 2015 summer semester dean’s list. To be eligible for the dean’s list, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.

Listed in Alphabetical Order by City and Last Name

Troy: Allison Brown, Mason Gilbert, Emily Mothmiller, Jinesh Patel, and Sara Thielman.

Rose awarded at Youngstown

YOUNGSTOWN — Macklin Rose of Troy has been awarded a Scholarship for Excellence at Youngstown State University.

Rose, a freshman majoring in STEM First Year Engineering, received the Deans’ Scholarship.

The Scholarships for Excellence awards are: $1,000 First Opportunity; $2,000 Red and White; $3,000 Dean’s; $4,000 President’s; $5,000 Trustees’; $4,000 to $6,000 Provost; $1,000 Martin Luther King; $1,000 to $3,000 Honors Program; and $2,000 Trailblazer.

Mount Union announces scholarship recipients

ALLIANCE — The following local University of Mount Union students received scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Tristan Taylor of New Carlisle, received the Dean’s Scholarship.

Canaan Berry of West Milton, received the Heritage Award.

Renee DeFord of Casstown, received the Trustee Scholarship.

Gunnar Fustos of Bradford, received the Trustee Scholarship.